If you have been arrested or charged with assault you want a competent attorney to guide you through the court system and get you the favorable result you deserve. Chris L.Griffen has worked as a City Prosecutor in Snohomish County, as well as a Public Defender before starting his private practice and understands how to get you through this.
An Assault can occur a number of different ways in Washington, either by intentional harming another person, attempting to cause harm to another person, or by putting another in fear of harm.
An assault can be charged as either a felony or a gross misdemeanor depending on its severity. First, Second and Third Degree Assault are felonies, while Assault Fourth Degree is a gross misdemeanor. If charged as a gross misdemeanor, it carries a maximum possible penalty of 365 days in jail and a $5000 fine. It may also be charged as a Domestic Violence offense. The varying degrees of Assault are as follows in the Revised Code of Washington:
|9A.36.011||Assault in the first degree.|
|9A.36.021||Assault in the second degree.|
|9A.36.031||Assault in the third degree.|
|9A.36.041||Assault in the fourth degree.|
Disorderly Conduct is a simple misdemeanor, punisable by up to 90 days in jail, and a $1000 fine. It is a broadly defined crime that can include the use of abusive language that intentionally creates the risk of assault. If you have been charged with disorderly conduct, you want an attorney who has handled numerous disorderly conduct cases and knows how to protect your rights. Contact Griffen Law Office today.